Monday, June 28, 2010

River Secrets (3rd book in Bayern series) by Shannon Hale

From the Cover:
Razo--short, funny and not a great soldier--is sure it's out of pity that his captain asks him to join an elite mission--escorting the ambassador into Tira, Bayern's great enemy.

But when the Bayern arrive in the strange southern country, it’s Razo who discovers the first dead body. He’s the only Bayern able to befriend both the high and low born, people who can provide information about the ever-increasing murders. And he’s the one who must embrace his own talents in order to get the Bayern soldiers home again, alive.

Newbery–Honor winner Shannon Hale returns the reader to the intrigue and magic of Bayern, introduced in her critically acclaimed novels, The Goose Girl and Enna Burning. In River Secrets, readers revisit a world where even those with no special magical skills find in themselves something they never imagined.

Tifferz Take:
I love the two previous books in Shannon Hale's Bayern series, The Goose Girl and Enna Burning, so I was excited to read the third. I was not disappointed. This book is great for boys and girls young and not so young. I really enjoyed Razo's character.

You can buy the book here:

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Enna Burning (2nd book in Bayern series)by Shannon Hale

From the Cover:
Enna's life was not meant to be simple. When her brother, Leifer, brings home a mysterious piece of vellum that teaches him how to set fires — without a spark, without flint — Enna cannot decide if this power is one she wants for herself, or something that should be extinguished forever.

And when Bayern, their country, goes to war, the choice becomes nearly unbearable. Enna never imagined that the warm, life-giving energy of a fire could destroy everything she loves, but she must now save herself and Bayern before fire consumes her entirely.

Shannon Hale's new tale is wholly original and spellbinding, a powerful companion to her highly acclaimed first book, the goose girl.

Tifferz Take:
The stuggle that Enna has with trying to control the desires within her can relate to all of us. Over all, it was a fun, easy read and I am glad I own it so I can read it again and again. I like how Shannon Hale can tell a story that is clean! This book isgreat for young adults as well as adults.

You can buy the book here:

Monday, June 21, 2010

Goose Girl (1st book of Bayern series)by Shannon Hale

From the Cover:
She was born with her eyes closed and a word on her tongue, a word she could not taste. Her name was Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, and she spent the first years of her life listening to her aunt’s stories and learning the language of the birds, especially the swans. And when she was older, she watched as a colt was born, and she heard the first word on his tongue, his name, Falada.

From the Grimm’s fairy tale of the princess who became a goose girl before she could become queen, Shannon Hale has woven an incredible, original, and magical tale of a girl who must find her own unusual talents before s he can lead the people she has made her own.

Tifferz Take:
This book is for all readers yound and not so young! This story has action, romance, friendship, and just enough violence to keep it exciting. You will enjoy the Ani's growing spirit and courage. I highly recommend this book. I will be doing my review on Enna Burning soon.

You can purchase this book here:

Thursday, June 17, 2010

The Bettin' Kind by Nancy J. Parra

From the Cover:
Amelia Morgan dreams of a handsome prince who would take one look at her and fall in love. Together they would find a dynasty of magnificent horses and live happily ever after. What she never counted on was her baby brother losing her beloved stallion to a slick card shark. Desperate not to lose her dream, she gambles that the threat of marriage would cause the card shark to cut and run rather than go through with a hasty marriage to a total stranger. Alex Laird is no dummy. He calls Amelia's bluff, fully expecting her to jilt him at the altar. Then the question of the horse's ownership would be indisputably his.
These two stubborn foes go through with a hasty marriage, neither willing to let go of their claim to the horse. Stuck with each other for the time being, each comes up with a plan to secure their future. Unfortunately, their goals are once again at odds. For a while, Alex decides an annulment is the answer to their predicament. Amelia takes a different tact. She believes the only way to see her dream come true is to make Alex fall in love with her. The struggles that ensue become more than a battle of wills. It becomes a battle of the heart where dreams are won and lost at the turn of a card.

Tifferz Take:
I think this is an excellent sweet romance and a well written story . I could relate to the characters. I found myself smiling and laughing out loud with this story. This book was clean just good old fashoned kissing! I purchased this book and it was worth every penny! I will read this book over and over again. I will be buying more from this author.

You can buy the book here:

Monday, June 14, 2010

Marcia Lynn McClure e-book Sale

I just got this in my email I thought I would pass it on to you guys!

36 Hours Only! Now through 7 p.m. Tuesday June 15th, all currently available e-books are $2.00 off the regular retail price! Don't miss this once-a-summer opportunity to complete your Marcia Lynn McClure E-Book collection during the Summer E-Book Sale at!

Incognito by Suzanne Allain

From the Cover:

Can a young lady allow her beloved sister to be sacrificed on the marriage altar? Emily Smithfield cannot. So when her mother announces that a marriage has been arranged between Emily’s older sister Lydia and Lord Wesleigh, a man the sisters have never met, Emily offers to marry the gentleman in her sister’s stead. Emily’s act of selflessness leaves Lydia free to marry the man she loves and Emily the bride of a handsome young marquess. Not a bad bargain at all!

Lord Wesleigh, who knows nothing of Emily’s matchmaking scheme, arrives in the small village where the Smithfields reside disguised as a curate, in an attempt to observe his betrothed anonymously. When Lord Wesleigh finds himself more attracted to Emily than her sister, the rules of the game change. Can he make Emily fall in love with him when she believes him to be a penniless curate?

Tifferz Take:

INCOGNITO is a romantic comedy set in Regency England if you are a fan of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer you will want to pick this book up today! I loved the witty batter between the characters. I liked the leading lady and the leading man! Allain did a fantastic job with the plot, characters and the dialogue. I found myself laughing out loud during this story. This is a keeper my friends. You will be so happy you purchased this book. I will be reading this story many times. I will be looking for more stories from Suzanne Allain. I purchased this book.

You can buy the book here:

You can get the Kindle version here:

Thursday, June 10, 2010

The Commander's Desire by Jannette Green

From the Cover:
Princess Elwytha wants revenge on the monster who murdered her brother. In a false exchange for peace, she offers herself in marriage to the enemy Prince. The plan? Kill the Prince's battle-scarred Commander-the man who ended King Thor's life with one filthy sword thrust through the back. To her horror, the Commander agrees to take Elwytha as his bride. Worse, the wedding date will be sooner than expected. Not all is lost, however. Now she has more opportunity to be alone with him-and exact justice. But the deed becomes difficult to carry out. Fighting her innate sense of honor, she begins to see the ironclad integrity of the man behind the scars. And with this knowledge comes doubt. Did he slay her brother? What exactly is the new king's plan? Whom can she trust? Elwytha must decide well, for more than her life is at stake. Soon she must betray either allegiance to her kingdom-or the man who is quickly claiming her heart.

Tifferz Take:

This is an excellent read. I highly recommend this book. Green put in some surprises for the reader. I like Elwytha and I found myself falling for the Commander. The dialogue in this book is great. This book is a must for your library. I will be reading this one again. I will be looking for more from Jennette Green. I purchased this book.

You can get the book here:

You can get the kindle version here:

Monday, June 7, 2010

Weathered Too Young by Marcia Lynn McClure

Lark Lawrence was alone. In all the world there was no one who cared for her. Still, there were worse things than independence—and Lark had grown quite capable of providing for herself. Nevertheless, as winter loomed, she suddenly found herself with no means by which to afford food and shelter—destitute.

Yet, Tom Evans was a kind and compassionate man. When Lark Lawrence appeared on his porch, without pause he hired her to keep house and cook for himself and his cantankerous elder brother, Slater. And although Tom had befriended Lark first, it would be Slater Evans—handsome, brooding and twelve years Lark’s senior—who would unknowingly abduct her heart.

Still, Lark’s true age (which she when concealed at first meeting the Evans brothers) was not the only truth she had kept from Slater and Tom Evans. Darker secrets lay imprisoned deep within her heart—and her past. However, it is that secrets are made to be found out—and Lark’s secrets revealed would soon couple with the arrival of a woman from Slater’s past to forever shatter her dreams of winning his love—or so it seemed. Would truth and passion mingle to capture Lark the love she’d never dared to hope for?

Tifferz Take:

I am so glad Marcia rewrote this original e-book into a full length novel. I love all the changes she made. This story is so sweet with lots of great kissing! What is not to love? A story with a good looking cowboy and a sweet girl. Marcia developed the characters well and I like how they grew through out the book. I could not help fall in love with the Slater and Lark. If you like great kissing and cowboys then this is a must read. Thanks Marcia for another excellent read.

You can pick this book up here:

Thursday, June 3, 2010

The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen


Believing herself guilty of a crime, Olivia Keene flees her home, eventually stumbling upon a grand estate where an elaborate celebration is in progress. But all is not as joyous as it seems…. Lord Bradley has just learned a terrible secret, which, if exposed, will change his life forever. When he glimpses a figure on the grounds, he fears a spy or thief has overheard his devastating news. He is stunned to discover the intruder is a scrap of a woman with her throat badly injured. Fearing she will spread his secret, he gives the girl a post and confines her to his estate. As Olivia and Lord Bradley's secrets catch up with them, will their hidden pasts ruin their hope of finding love?

Tifferz Take:
It is a tale of romance and mystery. The mystery keep you reading to solve the mystery and this story does keep the reader on edge. Overall, it was a very enjoyable read. For fans of Jane Eyre and Jane Austen, this book will probably be a good read. I purchased this book.

You can buy the book here: